2

I did a test with a small Premiere Pro CS6 project and discovered that for each change I made to an effect Premiere generated a completely new preview file and stored that alongside the old file ( which was apparently trash at this point )

Eg I did a rotation change and rendered a section and it created a preview file. I repeated this process and it made a second file. I would have expected it to overwrite the original because when I deleted all the preview files and generated a new preview it only ended up with a single preview file ( seemingly the same file as the last created ) — so I'm concluding that it would never use the previous 4 files yet it didn't delete them or give me an option to.

The reason I did this is that the preview files folder in my main project is 15GB in size; and I'm assuming much of this is trash based on the above. So I moved it out of the project folder pending deletion and generated a new set of preview files for the project, which which came out around 8Gb - and it seems to work fine.

My questions is:

Is there any problem with this method of regaining space other than it takes time to regenerated the preview. I mainly am curious because I haven't seen a reference to this technique anywhere; and also because I wonder why Adobe didn't add a button to purge and regenerate preview files (at least that I've seen) since it's fairly straightforward and reclaims back so much space.

1

You can delete Render files by going: Sequence > Delete Render Files

Or by using third-party programs.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.